The main objective of NVE's network regulation is to provide the basis for efficient electricity markets and efficient control of network companies as natural monopolies.

Contact information:

Head of Section Torfinn Stulen Jonasen

Network structure

The Norwegian electricity network is made up of three main categories: transmission (central), regional and local distribution:

  • the transmission network (400kV-132kV)
  • the regional distribution network (132kV-33kV)
  • the local distribution network (22kV-240V)

Statnett is the only Transmission System Operator (TSO) and responsible for the transmission tariffs.

There are 146 network companies that own and operate regional distribution and/or distribution networks. Some also own minor parts of the transmission network.